Psychology 101: Informal Learning and Technology

Class info: [ Home | Class menu | Calendar | Syllabus | 5 core questions | Goals, Expectations, & Responsibilities ]
Discussion: [ Contents | Search | Post Discussion Message | Post Field Note ]
Feedback: [ Biweekly feedback on class | Reports on feedback | Questions & Comments ]

Calendar of class events

Date and Time

Class Events

Place

Week #1
September 30, Mon.: 7:00-8:45pm

Orientation to the class, tour through the syllabus and the web. Meeting with the Coordinator of Barrios Unidos.

Nat Sci Annex #102
October 1, Tue.3:15pm Orientation to the site Barrios Unidos
October 2, Wed.: 7:00-8:45pm Writing field notes while watching the video "La Classa Magica," discussions on how to write field notes Nat Sci Annex #102
October 3, Thu.:3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
October 4, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm
7:00pm
Group II: Working with children and making observations

First week assignment
due
Barrios Unidos
Week #2
October 7, Mon.: 3:15-5:30pm
7:00-8:45pm


Group I: Working with children and making observations
Reading due for Topic #1: How to help children.


Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
October 9, Wed.: 2:15-4:30pm
7:00-8:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Ways of teaching and learning: teaching, learning, and observing how to do peanutbutter sandwich

Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
October 10, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
October 11, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
October 12, Sat.: 7:00 pm Biweekly feedback due
Week #3
October 14, Mon.: 3:15-5:30pm
7:00-8:45pm


Group I: Working with children and making observations
Reading due for Topic #2: Fieldnotes.


Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
October 16, Wed.: 2:15-4:30pm
7:00-8:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Eugene's presentation: Three philosophies of teaching in new and old parent volunteers in an innovative school

Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
October 17, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
October 18, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
Week #4
October 21, Mon.: 3:15-5:30pm
7:00-8:45pm


Group I: Working with children and making observations
Reading due for Topic #3 (part I): Children & Technology


Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
October 23, Wed.: 2:15-4:30pm
7:00-8:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Eugene's presentation: Structure of activities and guidance in informal versus formal educational settings

Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
October 24, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
October 25, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
October 26, Sat.: 7:00 pm Biweekly feedback due
Week #5
October 28, Mon.: 3:15-5:30pm
7:00-8:45pm


Group I: Working with children and making observations
To be announced. Reading due for Topic #3 (part II): Children & Technology.


Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
October 30, Wed.: 2:15-4:30pm
7:00-8:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Eugene's presentation: Guidance and working together of children from traditional and collaborative schools

Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
October 31, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
November 1, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
Week #6
November 4, Mon. 3:15-5:30pm
7:00-8:45pm


Group I: Working with children and making observations
To be announced. Reading due for Topic #4 (part I): Diversity, Learning, & Technology


Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
November 6, Wed.: 2:15-430pm
7:00-8:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Ed's presentation:
Papers' titles and descriptions are due, e-mail them to your TA.

Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
November 7, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
November 8, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
November 9, Sat.: 7:00 pm Biweekly feedback due
Week #7
November 11, Mon.: 3:15-5:30pm
7:00-8:45pm


Group I: Working with children and making observations
"Circle" discussion of the final papers. You'll get TA's feedback on the papers' titles and descriptions. Reading due for Topic #4 (part II): Diversity, Learning, & Technology


Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
November 13, Wed.: 2:15-4:30pm
7:00-8:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Pablo's presentation:

Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
November 14, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
November 15, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
Week #8
November 18, Mon.: 3:15-5:30pm
7:00-8:45pm


Group I: Working with children and making observations
To be announced. Reading due for Topic #5 (part I): Development & Learning. The first draft of the final papers are due (bring them to class).


Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
November 20, Wed.: 2:15-4:30pm
7:00-8:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
To be announced. The second draft of the papers is due, e-mail them to your TA.

Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
November 21, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
November 22, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
November 23, Sat.:
7:00 pm
Biweekly feedback due
Week #9
November 25, Mon.: 3:15-5:30pm
7:00-8:45pm


Group I: Working with children and making observations
To be announced. Reading due for Topic #5 (part II): Development & Learning. You'll get TA's feedback on the second drafts.


Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
November 27, Wed.: 2:15-4:30pm
7:00-8:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
To be announced.

Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
November 28, Thu. No class; Thanksgiving
November 29, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
Week #9
December 2, Mon.: 3:15-5:30pm
7:00-8:45pm


Group I: Working with children and making observations
Poster Conference I. Posters due for Group I..


Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
December 4, Wed.: 2:15-4:30pm
7:00-8:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Poster Conference II. Posters due for Group II..

Barrios Unidos
Nat Sci Annex #102
December 5, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
December 6, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I & Group II: Celebration the end of the quarter work with the children Barrios Unidos
December 7, Sat.:
7:00 pm
Biweekly feedback due
Week #10
December 13, Fri.: 7:00pm

Final papers due to be published. Also e-mail the papers' abstracts and a represantative field note paragraph to your TA for narrative evaluation.

[ Top ]


For comments and questions contact the Instructor Eugene Matusov.
1996. Last changed: September 05, 2001