Psychology 100K: Development of Thought and Language

Calendar of class events

Date and Time

Class Events

Place

Week #1
January 6, Mon.:
5:00-6:45pm

Orientation to the class, tour through the syllabus and the web. Writing field notes while watching the video "La Classa Magica," discussions on how to write field notes

Soc. Sci. I #161
January 7, Tue.3:15pm Orientation to the site. Meeting with the Coordinator of Barrios Unidos. Barrios Unidos
January 8, Wed.:
5:00-6:45pm
Orientation to the class instructional web (class meeting at SS1-135 computer lab) Soc. Sci. I #135
January 9, Thu.:3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
January 10, Fri.:
3:15-5:30pm
7:00pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Description of your interests First week assignment due

Barrios Unidos
Week #2
January 13, Mon.:
5:00-6:45pm

Reading due for Topic1. Evidence of cognitive and language development in informal settings

Soc. Sci. I #161
January 14, Tu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
January 15, Wed.:
2:15-4:30pm
5:00-6:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Reading due for Topic 2. Approaches to cognitive development

Barrios Unidos
Soc. Sci. I #161
January 16, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
January 17, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
January 18, Sat.: 7:00 pm Biweekly feedback due  
Week #3
January 20, Mon.:

Martin Luther King Day. No class.

January 21, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
January 22, Wed.:
2:15-4:30pm
5:00-6:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Reading due for Topic #3: Development of cognitive functions.

Barrios Unidos
Soc. Sci. I #161
January 23, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
January 24, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
Week #4
January 27, Mon.:
5:00-6:45pm


Reading due for Topic #4: Schooled and everyday cognition.


Soc. Sci. I #161
January 28, Tu.:
3:15-5:30pm
Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
January 29, Wed.:
2:15-4:30pm
5:00-6:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Selecting topic for the group projects. Writing a paragraph for the group project in class.

Barrios Unidos
Soc. Sci. I #161
January 30, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
January 31, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
February 1, Sat.: 7:00 pm Biweekly feedback due  
Week #5
February 3, Mon.:
5:00-6:45pm


To be announced. Reading due for Topic #5): Language and cognition. Working on the first draft of the group project.


Soc. Sci. I #161
February 4, Tu. 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
February 5, Wed.:
2:15-4:30pm
5:00-6:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Working on the first draft of the group project.

Barrios Unidos
Soc. Sci. I #161
February 6, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
February 7, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
Week #6
February 10, Mon.
5:00-6:45pm

Reading due for Topic #6: Cultural diversity of discourse. First draft of the group project is due in class. Providing "peer" feedback for the first drafts.

Soc. Sci. I #161
February 11, Mon. 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
February 12, Wed.:
2:15-4:30pm
5:00-6:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Working on the second draft of the group project. Start reading Vasquez's and Baker's chapters – they are really big!

Barrios Unidos
Soc. Sci. I #161
February 13, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
February 14, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
February 15, Sat.: 7:00 pm Biweekly feedback due  
Week #7
February 17, Mon.:

President's Day. No class.

February 18, Tu.: 5:00-6:45pm Exchange day. No site. Reading and discussion of final papers of the previous UC links class, Psych 101: Informal Learning and Technology.(class meeting at SS1-135 computer lab) Soc. Sci. I #135
February 19, Wed.:
2:15-4:30pm
5:00-6:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Reading due for Topic #7: Issues of bilingual education and language development. Second draft of the group project paper due (via e-mail or via paper to TAs).

Barrios Unidos
Soc. Sci. I #161
February 20, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
February 21, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
Week #8
February 24, Mon.:
5:00-6:45pm


To be announced. Reading due for Topic #8: Non-verbal communication. You'll get feedback on your second draft from your TA.


Soc. Sci. I #161
February 25, Tu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
February 26, Wed.:
2:15-4:30pm
5:00-6:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Pablo's presentation about cultural patterns of attention management. Working on the third draft of the group paper. How to search the Internet for references (at SS1-135 computer lab at the end of the class).

Barrios Unidos
Soc. Sci. I #161, #135
February 27, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
February 28, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
March 1, Sat.:
7:00 pm
Biweekly feedback due  
Week #9
March 3, Mon.:
5:00-6:45pm


To be announced. Reading due for Topic #9: Language of decontextualization. Preparing group presentation.


Soc. Sci. I #161
March 4, Tu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
March 5, Wed.:
2:15-4:30pm
5:00-6:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Group project presentation and class discussion (final draft of the group project paper due).

Barrios Unidos
Soc. Sci. I #161
March 6, Thu. Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
March 7, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group II: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
Week #10
March 10, Mon.:
5:00-6:45pm


Group project presentation and class discussion (final draft of the group project paper due).


Soc. Sci. I #161
March 11, Tu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
March 12, Wed.:
2:15-4:30pm
5:00-6:45pm

Group II: Working with children and making observations
Group project presentation and class discussion (final draft of the group project paper due).

Barrios Unidos
Soc. Sci. I #161
March 13, Thu.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I: Working with children and making observations Barrios Unidos
March 14, Fri.: 3:15-5:30pm Group I & Group II: Celebration the end of the quarter work with the children Barrios Unidos
March 15, Sat.:
7:00 pm
Biweekly feedback due  
Week #11
March 21, Fri.: 7:00pm

Final papers due to be published on the Publishing Web for Students' Final Papers. Reflective statement on your learning in class (Final Week's Assignment) due (it should be posted on our class Web) for narrative evaluation.


For comments and questions contact the Instructor Eugene Matusov.
©1996. Last changed: January 20, 1997